Song of the Week (01.10.16-01.17.16)

The National are one of my favorite bands of the last ten years.  I was introduced to them at High Violet, then fell in love at Trouble Will Find Me, which caused me to search their back catalog and turned Boxer into my favorite.  Lately, it’s all about Alligator, which by most accounts is where they really started to find themselves.  So many great songs, just not as polished or as readily accessible as their following efforts.  This song took some warming up, but what a beautiful beast it is.

“We’re the heirs to the glimmering world
We’re the heirs to the glimmering world
We’re the heirs to the glimmering world
We’re the heirs to the glimmering world

Oh, come, come be my waitress and serve me tonight
Serve me the sky tonight
Oh, come, come be my waitress and serve me tonight
Serve me the sky with a big slice of lemon”

They are the absolute best band to be melancholy and drink to, and also a really great band to be happy and drink to, and also a really great band to be pensive and drink to.  What I’m saying is, cheers.

– MCG.

 

 

Leave a Reply

