West Coast Wednesday: “Ambitionz Az A Ridah” by Tupac Shakur

All Eyez On Me was my first “Parental Advisory:  Explicit Content” album, and for a long time, it was the only one my parents would buy me.  So, naturally, it was my go-to album whenever I was a pissed off little fella because of all the cursing, and that the incredible delivery Tupac had only amplified the angst in all of his vicious words.  (e.g. “…increase speed, make you mother fuckers bleed from your mouth, quicker…”)

I had heard “California Love” because the video was on loop those days (and rightfully so; best rap video ever?), but this is the first song on the album, and after that intro and those first four piano key strokes I was a changed person.  These words and beat have been sampled countless times.  It’s as iconic as it gets.  “I won’t deny it, I’m a straight ridah…”

 

 – MCG.

Leave a Reply

